7 days…

"Deer on the Road"There are some things about living in the country that I will miss.  Moments like this are one of them.  The fun dialogues that follow moments like this are especially entertaining:

Hubby (shouting) : That deer’s going to hit the kids!!!

Me (rolling my eyes) : no it’s not

Hubby : Yes it is, it’s aiming right for them!!!

Me: Honey, it’s not aiming for them.  It’s running as fast as it can to get away from them.

My guy’s a city boy. He grew up in the ‘burbs with lots of neighbours and wildlife that was no bigger than a raccoon.  He’s wonderful and amazing, but he’s no country boy… that’s one of the things I love about him.  We equal each other out.  

I was born and raised in the country. I’m accustomed to dirty vehicles, dusty roads, hauling my own garbage to the dump and throwing it out and crickets all night long (which drives him nuts).

He’s a clean car, municipal water, no bugs, you pick up my garbage type of guy. 

In 7 days, we move from the country and this fresh air, open fields, long, straight stretches of road into suburbia. On a cul-de-sac with a dozen other people side by side.  We went for our walk-through today and as we walked through this beautiful home that we bought, we both couldn’t help but notice how small everything looked. And I have to say, I breathed a sigh of relief.  I’ve been banging my head against a wall lately thinking how much house I was going to have to clean.  2400 square feet of cleaning. That’s a lot of sweeping, vacuuming, windows…..oh my goodness windows.   But then we stepped outside onto the porch and saw children stepping outside of their homes to play in the sunshine.  A couple of little guys across the street playing ball hockey in the driveway. Another little boy riding a scooter around on the street.  And I know that even though my guys won’t have as much green space as they would have where we are now, they’re going to be surrounded by friends! 

7 days until a new life begins….

Comments make my day.... seriously!!

