Thanks for the advice…

1.) List 10 things you wish you could say to strangers who share unsolicited advice about your parenting skills.

Mama’s Losin’ It

I love when people try and offer me advise on child-rearing. I especially love it from people who haven’t actually HAD children in their house since the 1960’s.

Sarcasm people.

Anyone who knows ANYONE who knows me will tell you that I am always open to advice. I love hearing people’s opinions on what worked for them, how I could do it better, blah blah blah.

I have, however, very rarely used any of the advice I have been given.

I prefer to learn on my own. The only advice I have ever stringently followed is my Grandmother’s “everything in their own time”… and even that took a few tries on her part.

What is it about a woman toting a newborn that makes perfect strangers turn into Dr Spock?

Thinking back on some of the “tips & tricks” I was given, I realize that some of them were a bit over the top… and probably would have resulted in child services knocking on my door.

“Give him an ice cube to chew on when he’s teething”

> When I questioned putting something small in my child’s mouth, the response was “it’s too big for them to choke on”. And in my brain, I was screaming “ICE MELTS YOU MORON…IT’S EVENTUALLY GOING TO BE SMALL ENOUGH FOR THEM TO CHOKE ON”

yes I realize it would melt enough that it would eventually pass, but seriously?

“I wouldn’t let my child use a soother. At least the thumb doesn’t get lost in the middle of the night”

> Right. BUT. I can throw the soother out. Addiction stopped. YOU on the other hand, got to pay for expensive orthodontic surgery to repair your child’s misaligned jaw.. what’s that? FROM SUCKING HIS THUMB.

“Giving them rice cereal too early will only increase their appetite.”

> Seriously? The only reason I’m considering rice cereal at 3 months is because my child already HAS a huge appetite. Moving on….

“Don’t mix bottle and breast…it confuses the child.”

> Let me tell you something. The child will be even more confused if I go insane from lack of sleep/adult time/ability to get ANYTHING done.

Don’t get me wrong…advice can be really great… and I learned a lot by watching other mothers, but I had to bite my tongue a few times when my boys were small…

And if you’re reading this and you recognize that YOU were one of the people that gave me this advice?

Sorry 😉

12 thoughts on “Thanks for the advice…

  1. How about the “rub whiskey on his gums” one? Oh my gosh. There are so many old wives tales out there. Hopefully they’ll die off 🙂 Nice post!

  2. I think I’ve heard each piece of advice you’ve been given here. The thing I care for least when it comes to unsolicited advice, is the stuff that comes from those people who DON’T have children. That’s the best!

    Experiencing all the things we have to experience teaches us how to be. It’s how we learn, dammit! I do have to say, there were many things I read in books or heard from peers or family elders that I did actually take into account, even if it was subconsciously.

  3. OMG! You are SOOO right! However, I have let my kids suck on ice. BUT! It’s in a mesh-type paci and can’t let loose. I love your sarcasm and your ending little bit. Too cool! (coming from Mama Kat)

    • really??? Ok, a mesh paci thing would have been SUPER handy when the little men were screaming and mama couldn’t find the baby anbesol…
      although, there WAS that handy advice about rubbing their gums with whiskey…

  4. My mother in law told me to give our son who was a few weeks old rice cereal because his colic was because he was hungry. I’ve also heard that my breastmilk was giving him colic. Ack!

Comments make my day.... seriously!!

