in which I talk about what a baby I can be….

The dreaded moment has arrived.

I’m not sure what to do.

After the words were spoken, I stood there speechless, unable to move. My eyes filled with tears. I stared up at the ceiling… I refused to let him see me cry.
His eyes met mine once again and I could immediately see that he regretted having said them. The long lashes swept down and he thoughtlessly picked at a pull in the material of his shorts.

When he finally looks back up at me, I’ve composed myself. I quietly smile, turn on my heel and close the door behind me.

Deep breaths…. in… out…

I can hardly believe it.

Peanut won’t let me help him with his Lego anymore.

He actually said “I don’t need your help anymore, Mom.”

Huh?

Heartbreaking.

This development of his autonomy is killing me.

Also?

It was hard to set an adult example today. I really wanted to throw out my bottom lip and pout about the rejection that I had experienced.

Ok, I pouted pretty badly.

I was far from adult.

I made my way downstairs, sat on the couch and sulked for a good 10 minutes.

He’s only 7… he still needs me… he can’t start rejecting me already… I’m not ready for this {insert hyperventilation here}.

That’s when the sweet little voice floated down from his bedroom :

“Mom, I’m stuck… can you help me?”

And life is good again. 🙂

3 thoughts on “in which I talk about what a baby I can be….

  1. I love the ending! Perfect. Every stage, every age….it is all a push and pull. They need us, they don’t need us. And what can we do but be at the ready–just in case?! Hang on to your hat. It’s going to be this way for a long while!

  2. Pingback: Some blogging resolutions for 2012 | {You Are Here}

Comments make my day.... seriously!!

