…in which I define 2012 in one word

My life has been completely overrun by the English language lately.
The grammatical writing course that I’ve been taking is running it’s course (see what I did there?) and my exam is quickly approaching on the 14th.
I suppose I should begin studying now.

I’m a procrastinator, people. I work better under pressure.
Seriously

In order to avoid studying rest my weary brain from the never-ending stream of predicate verbs, dependant noun clauses, infinite phrases and the many rules for hyphenating compound words, I decided to choose my word for the year.

Have you chosen your word?

You should.

MyOneWord.org is proudly displayed on my friend May’s site. If you read a bit about her, you’ll see that her word, when she chose it, was Clarity… thus Achieving Clarity. It’s a great word, May.

They call it the Unresolution:

Our resolutions seldom work because they focus on the type of person we want to become rather than who God wants us to be. Many people do not see God at work in their lives simply because they don’t know what to look for. So, what if our hopes for the year centered on who God wanted us to become instead?

It’s okay to want to be a better you—and the New Year is a natural time to start. The question is, how? My One Word replaces broken promises with a vision for real change. When you choose a single word, you have a single focus. You are moving toward the future rather than swearing off the past.

With My One Word, you’re right where God wants you: in His hands. And it’s not an extreme makeover we’re talking about. This year, the goal is to see His work in one area of your life.

I’ve been struggling with myself lately, and the word that seemed to jump out at me was Happiness.

Hubby bought me a fantastic book about happiness recently… but I’ll come back to that in a separate post…

As I began to dissect what that meant to me, though, I realized that I am very VERY happy, I’m just scattered and unsure how to put everything that makes me happy back in order… sort of organizing my happiness, so to speak.
it makes sense in my head

What kind of person do I want to be this year? I want to be organized, fun, devoted, I want to expand my education even more, be more thoughtful, patient more patient than I usually am.

I want to get it together.
Hmmm… pull out the dictionary. What, exactly, is the meaning of “together”?

to·geth·er   [tuh-geth-er]
adverb

(of a single thing) into or in a condition of unity, compactness, or coherence

That’s exactly what I want! Unity… for my thoughts, my spirit, my family … compactness… to leave behind the excess and unnecessary overabundance that can run me down… oh my goodness coherence!!

So… it’s decided.

My word for 2012 :

TOGETHER

4 thoughts on “…in which I define 2012 in one word

  1. That is so weird because that’s my unofficial word for the year too.
    Although my together meant with family and friends because I was so sick last year that I rarely spent time being with them “mentally” if that makes sense. I want to be more present with them and soak in their togetherness.

Comments make my day.... seriously!!

