Peanut and the Optometrist

Peanut has always been good about going to the Doctor. He understands that it is important to keep an eye on our health and that seeing a Doctor, of any sort, need not be a scary experience.

Recently, we went to the Optometrist. I’m expecting some old man with a lab coat and a bad hairdo. Instead, I got a bubbly young woman who, upon inspection of her diplomas strewn across the walls, is younger than me.
I’m not sure why having professionals younger than me bothers me, but it makes me feel old. At 33, I shouldn’t feel old yet. Right?… Right???

But I digress…

We got to play fun games finding numbers in pictures, we wore 3D glasses, we got to look through something that looked like a superhero mask… and then Dr R dropped the bomb on us.

Peanut needs glasses.

How, as a mother, did I miss this?? He’s 7 and has never complained about his sight before…
Although… now that I think of it, he has been blinking his right eye an awful lot lately when he’s reading.
And there is the fact that he doesn’t seem as interested in reading as he used to.

The good news?
He really only needs glasses to help his right eye “catch up” developmentally with his left eye.
This means that while he needs to wear them at all times right now, in a year or so, he may only need them occasionally.

The bad news?
Peanut doesn’t want glasses.

SO

When Dr R tells us, with great enthusiasm, that we now get to pick out some “totally cool frames”, we head out to the store to see what will suit Peanut.

Nothing.

He doesn’t want them.

It doesn’t matter that his little buddy at school wears them, or another little friend and her little sister…
Have you ever gone clothing shopping with a friend that doesn’t really enjoy it? You know that look when they come out of the change room and you know at that moment that it doesn’t matter what you put them in or how great it looks, you will always get that same reaction… slouched over, arms stuck out as if to say “there…happy?” long face…

That is now Peanut’s expression. For every. pair. of frames. It’s exasperating.

15 minutes later, we have picked the cutest frames, totally gone overboard on telling him how adorable he is and that he’s going to be the coolest kid in school (to which Monster objected, saying only kids with fluorescent blue hearing aids were the coolest) we ordered the glasses and made for home.

When we get home afterwards, I try to play it down. I don’t mention it again. The boys spend the day playing together and as far as I know, there is no mention of it. The fact that he doesn’t want to talk about it has be a bit concerned, as this is a child that normally has 4,000 questions for any life experience that occurs. Whether it affects him or not, he wants to have every detail, and understand every avenue… a bit like his mother.

So when bedtime rolls around and I am tucking him in I am surprised when he asks me “when am I getting my glasses Mom?”. I wave it off, saying “Don’t worry buddy, they won’t be in for a week or two.”
I’m sure my reaction was comical when he asked me why we couldn’t have just taken those ones home today… then I found out why.

Apparently Speedy thinks that glasses are pretty cool and he wants a pair…
I guess that will be the next trip to the Optometrist….

3 thoughts on “Peanut and the Optometrist

  1. Awww…poor guy. Change is scary to kids. Especially when that change involves wearing something on your face all day. But once he understands that it’s going to help him so much, he’ll get to like them
    PS. I secretly wanted to wear glasses in grade school because I thought it looked cool

  2. I hope they relieve his eyes so much that he never wants to take them off! I hadn’t heard of one eye being developmentally behind another but it makes sense that could happen.

    So…I stopped by to tell you that I have named you a recipient of the Liebster Award. It is a recognition of quality for small blogs which show promise. Hope you will stop by my blog to find out more and to see the things I had to say about you. Congratulations and keep those posts coming!

Comments make my day.... seriously!!

