Time to try something new…

Well, here goes.

This year, I’m going to attempt to broaden my horizons on the food front. I’m not a picky eater… not by a long shot. I love spicy foods, ethnic foods, and I absolutely adore trying foods from other cultures.

Thank goodness Hubby has an appreciation for excellent cuisine, too. He allows me to try different foods and is patient with me when I try a different recipe, while substituting recipes to see if I can make it “fit into my pantry”.

This year, I’m going to try and document some of my recipe wanderings.

Today, I’m starting by demonstrating my love for the muffin tin. You’ll learn more about this love obsession as the recipes continue. And the first recipe is…. (drumroll please)….

Ham & Egg Cups (or ham and eggies as Monster called them)

This was super easy, and I’m shocked that I didn’t think of it years ago.

 

Start with your favourite type of ham.  I used Rosemary Ham, because I love the extra flavour it brought to the recipe. Ok Ok… and because it’s all we had in the house.

Spray the muffin cups and line each cup with a slice of ham.

Crack an egg into each ham cup.

This part is crucial.

You must… repeat MUST have an adorable sous-chef to help you out. Have him sprinkle chopped green onion (or scallion) into each cup.  Add a dash of salt and pepper to each.

Pop them into the oven for 10-15 minutes (depending how well done you like your eggs) at 375 degrees and they come out deeee-licious.  Next time, I think I’ll sprinkle a little bit of old cheddar on the top just before it’s time to take them out.

These were quick, simple, and would make a great meal if you have a lot of people to feed at once… the recipe is easily adjusted to the number of people you are entertaining.

Then I toasted a slice of multigrain bread and…. VOILA!

Ham and Egg Cups

12 slices of thin-sliced ham
12 eggs
3 finely chopped green onions (or scallions)
Salt & Pepper
Shredded cheese (optional)

Heat oven to 375 degrees. Spray muffin tin with non-stick cooking spray. Line each muffin cup with a slice of ham. Crack one egg into each ham cup. Top with salt and pepper, and sprinkle with green onion.
Cook on middle rack for 10 – 15 minutes until whites are opaque and yolk is cloudy. Times can be varied according to the preferred done-ness of the yolk.
If desired, remove from the oven 3 minutes before done and top with a small amount of shredded cheese.

Serve on English Muffin, or bread of your choice!

Bon Appetit!

19 thoughts on “Time to try something new…

  1. That sounds yummy…minus the ham.
    I have a strong aversion to it.
    But you’re right, it is absolutely neccessary for ANY recipe to work, you need an adorable sous chef.

  2. Pingback: more muffin tin madness | {You Are Here}

  3. Pingback: Mommyhood Confession | Monster’s 30 questions | {You Are Here}

  4. Pingback: getting primal – with the family | {You Are Here}

Comments make my day.... seriously!!

