Porcupine Meatballs

As a child, my mother used to make these meatballs from time to time. They were a real treat – I’d almost forgotten about them, until I was struggling to get out of the dinner “slumps” a couple of years back and remembered this fun meal.

Porcupine meatballs are named such for the rice that is cooked into the meatballs – it sticks out like little quills after the meatballs are cooked.

I took my basic meatball recipe, added a bit of water to keep them moist, and switched the spices up a bit.

Here, I used medium ground beef – normally I would use lean or extra lean…even turkey burger.

Because of the boys, I kept the spices simple… a couple of them are picky… but I think if I have another go at it for just Hubby and I, I may try these babies curried.

I’ve got some fresh ground peppercorns, garlic powder, some brown rice and the ground beef, which I stirred together in a large bowl.

I also added some finely diced onion, parmesan cheese, and a pinch of salt.

I stirred in a bit of water, and mixed it well. Using a tablespoon, I formed 1.5″ meatballs and placed them in a baking dish. Then I covered them up with tomato soup mixture and baked!

Voila!

Porcupine Meatballs

1.5 lbs lean ground beef
2/3 cup brown rice (uncooked)
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp ground pepper
1/8 tsp salt
1/4 cup parmesan cheese
1/2 small onion – finely diced
1/2 cup water
1 can tomato soup (I’ve tried a few, and Campbell’s always works the best for me)
1 cup water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees C.
In a large bowl, mix together the first 8 ingredients. Shape the mixture using a tablespoon into 1.5 inch balls. Arrange in an ungreased baking pan.
Mix together the tomato soup and water and pour over the meatballs.
Bake, covered for 45 minutes. Uncover and bake another 15 minutes.

Serve on hot rice, or egg noodles.
These are kid-friendly, and completely adaptable for tastes.

This is another great recipe that freezes well for ready-made meals for busy families.

sorry for the lack of pictures… I have a lens that isn’t working properly and I need to get in to be serviced…

9 thoughts on “Porcupine Meatballs

  1. Yum, there has been some good stuff cooking at your place ever since the holidays. I get so tired of coming up with dinner menus. We will be trying these this weekend.

Comments make my day.... seriously!!

